Welcome to the Track & Field Forum

A community dedicated to helping you improve on and off the track
Register Now

The past, the pesent and moving forward

Discussion in 'Throws' started by Jphomard, Oct 5, 2017.

Is my goal unobtainable?

1. Yes

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. No

2 vote(s)
    100.0%
  1. Jphomard

Jphomard New Member

If you read in the introduction section, I was a thrower from sophomore year in high school. There I threw shot and discus. Fell in love with the discus more cause I showed better results and didn't have the explosive power needed for shot. I qualified for sectionals in my state but never progressed further than that since the competition was leagues ahead of me; throwing over 170 feet while I threw 140. Once out of high school I was away from the competition, once I transferred schools I joined the track and field team and was introduced to my passion now HAMMER woohoo. I loved practicing this event. Unfortunately my progress was halted by the need to graduate and the removal of our throwing coach. In the two years that I competed, I went from throwing 25 meters to throwing 45 meters in competition. but in practice I was able to throw into the low 50 meter range. Coming into the third year I was consistently throwing over 50 meters and could have broken 60 given enough time. While our throws coach didn't know much about the hammer there were several articles, websites and videos that I must give thanks to for their teachings. Without them I wouldn't have enjoyed it so much.